Treasured Thursdays

My Christmas tree sits unclothed

My house lacks red

The scent of baked goods don’t permeate the air

Music of yesteryear is not lingering 

I’ve dragged my feet

I hate that I can’t smell or feel the spirit

Not sure if it’s the doomsday message on the screens

Or  the lack of positivity that I feel

There isn’t much time before the 25th

So before I declare that I may be a grinch this year

I will give thanks for the blessings I do have 

Give to those who need and 

Get that tree decked, those cakes baked, the house fa la lad

And some Mighty Pelay and Alvin & the Chipmunks on constant replay

3 thoughts on “Treasured Thursdays

Leave a Reply

