“I think that the best thing we can do for our children is to allow them to do things for themselves, allow them to be strong, allow them to experience life on their own terms, allow them to take the subway… let them be better people, let them believe more in themselves.” 

― C. JoyBell C.

I thought about this assignment for a bit which is why I’m a day late. I would like to think that everyone I meet is interesting, at least in the moment if I’m being truthful. After much thought and deliberation (primarily because I’m challenging myself to dig deeper, to step out of the box) I decided the most interesting person I have met all year is my daughter. She is tenacious, self assured, ambitious, smart, carries herself with such grace that I am very aware I did not possess in my early teens. 

  • 

She may not be someone I have just met in the literal sense of the word but every time I look at her or share a conversation with her, I feel like I’m getting a glimpse of the beautiful heart, the strong willed, outspoken woman she is growing up to be. She has always inspired me to be more and I tear as write this because I’m proud to be her mom. 

7 thoughts on “Writing 101: day 6: character study

  1. I find that it is a constant struggle between letting my boys go out and learn through experience and protecting them from excessive danger. I think the greater danger lies in over-protecting our children. They will eventually be exposed to the real world and they have to learn how to handle difficult people and situations.

    1. I am sure we all thought that when they were little our lives were more challenging. Now with the current state of affairs and just the fact that the world is changing as rapidly as our kids, we as parents worry more. But all we can do is prepare them as best we can and support them. I’m wishing they were still babies:-)

Leave a Reply

