And we walk

I should have a picture to share with you but unfortunately you will have to take my word for it. My lovely teen knows I’m not a morning person. Never have been and certainly don’t want to be. But back to my point.
My teen and I have been experiencing some growing pains (more her than me) and so in an effort to energize our bond, she invited me to walk with her on mornings on her way to the bus stop at 6:30 am😓.
The first couple of weeks were challenging as I dragged myself out of bed, put on sweats and my hoodie and mumbled out of the house. No talking!!
I have been anticipating those walks, marveling at the scent of the early morning scent of the flowers, the quietness of our neighborhood and the time with her. I listen as she talks about her classes, her classmates and all the little nuances that take precedence in a young teens life. Every now and then she will ask some random question about my childhood.
Yes, we are walking and talking, sharing moments that are dear to me and I hope will be a happy memory for her. I am etching these moments to memory so when the weather is brutally cold, I can warm my thoughts with the first set of words I hear every morning “Good Morning, Mom! Are you walking with me today?” And I rise so we can walk.

Leave a Reply

