Overheard

Today I felt a bit overwhelmed and went out for a walk. My feet carried me to the Starbucks across the street. There were only 3 unoccupied seats. After I was seated for a few minutes a gentleman sat down in one of the other seats and made a phone call. He was calling a crisis hotline to tell them that this time of year was hard for him, he was bipolar and depressed, his medication was not working. He left them a number to call him back. A few minutes later I got up to leave and stole a glance at the young man who couldn’t have been more than 25 or 26 years old. He had his headphones on and was listening to music. My heart went out to him. I do hope he got a call back and that he was able to get the help he requested. My little situation definitely was not as overwhelming as his need.

Leave a Reply

